• clearance
XX Teens: Welcome To Goon Island

Welcome To Goon Island

XX Teens

  • US $0.99  

  • Release Date 28 July 2008
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Number of Discs
Mute Artists



'Welcome To Goon Island', the debut album from XX Teens, is released July 28th 2008 on CD, and gatefold LP

Somewhat of a metaphor for Britain, 'Welcome To Goon Island' is born from the great British Art School tradition, the core of the band having met at art college in Sothend; vivid, interesting, expansive and far-reaching, an aesthetic that seeps into everything they do from their other-worldly videos via intriguing photos to extra curricular activities such as training dogs to dance. Yet such apparent frippery shouldn't disguise their uncanny ability to pen rather fine songs, as Welcome To Goon Island attests.

Previous singles such as 'Onkawara', 'Darlin' and 'How To Reduce The Chances Of Being A Terror Victim' have already seen them bag single of the week slots in NME, praise from the likes of Zane on Radio1, front covers of Artrocker and a slot in the NME's tracks of 2007 list. And with 'Welcome To Goon Island', XX Teens look set to bring a bit of depth & technicolour joy into the sometime hegemonic drabness of the current musical landscape.

The album was produced by with Ross Orton (Fat Truckers, MIA, Bromheads Jacket, Kid Acne) in Sheffield at the end of 2007. A joyous and innovative record which rumbles, rolls & swings coming to an end with the swirling psychedelia of Sun Comes Up and a moving eulogy for Brian Haw.

XX TEENS are: Anthony Silvester (guitar), Rich Cash (vocals), William Morrow (guitar), Macks Faulkron (drums) & Jorgen Raa (bass).

1 The Way We Were  
2 B-54  
3 Round  
4 Ba (Ba-Ba Ba)  
5 Onkawara  
6 (Reprise)  
7 Only You  
8 My Favourite Hat  
9 Darlin'  
10 Sun Comes Up  
11 For Brian Haw